Promises Untold | Untold Promises

Promises Untold

Who gave me the first promise and what did that first promise take?

Let me not make you wait for the anticlimax,

the first promise ever made was broken,

just as the promises of today.

I do not know who made it or why it became a word of faith,

but even before words could describe a promise,

some promises were meant to break.

Even God who took the first promise from Adam in Eden,

in a bid to curb curiosity and keep away the snake,

only realised the nature of humans he made.

And the evolved Neanderthal man had promised his maid,

that he will return safe from his hunt to their cave,

while not knowing that he was a prey.

Those two lovers promising that their love will remain the same,

after living together soon realised the truth as time ticked away

that at times love is at the core of, why promises fade.

I can’ t really comprehend why some promises never live to see the day,

but we all bought and sold a lot of broken promises,

believing and breaking them along the way.

To recount all the broken promises is to count clouds on a cloudy day,

for there were so many breaking as every second ticks time away,

we started hailing those who held on to the words they gave.

Every promise is unique to the situation in which its made,

but hope, faith, trust & life cannot be led to waste,

these promises are the worst ones to break.

I made the first promise, a promise to myself and it took my soul.

Though I don’t remember what to myself, I must have told.

But I am sure in time, my promise I broke.

 


Untold Promises

 

I made the first promise, a promise to myself and it took my soul.

Though I don’t remember what to myself, I must have told.

But I am sure in time, my promise I broke.

Every promise is unique to the situation in which its made,

but hope, faith, trust & life cannot be led to waste,

these promises are the worst ones to break.

—-

To recount all the broken promises is to count clouds on a cloudy day,

for there were so many breaking as every second ticks time away,

we started hailing those who held on to the words they gave.

I can’ t really comprehend why some promises never live to see the day,

but we all bought and sold a lot of broken promises,

believing and breaking them along the way.

Those two lovers promising that their love will remain the same,

after living together soon realised the truth as time ticked away

that at times love is at the core of, why promises fade.

And the evolved Neanderthal man had promised his maid,

that he will return safe from his hunt to their cave,

while not knowing that he was a prey.

Even God who took the first promise from Adam in Eden,

in a bid to curb curiosity and keep away the snake,

only realised the nature of humans he made.

I do not know who made it or why it became a word of faith,

but even before words could describe a promise,

some promises were meant to break.

—-

Let me not make you wait for the anticlimax,

the first promise ever made was broken,

just as the promises of today.

I gave myself a promise and my promise took my soul away.

 

 

@seethingsage

 

 

Leave a Reply

